What is Draft Mode?
Draft Mode enables Global Admins and Content Creators to draft new Course versions within a live Course with and without existing assignments and publish it at their discretion. It provides a safe workspace to plan updates to Course content while not immediately impacting assigned users. The draft can be edited, reviewed, and published when it is ready.
How to create and manage a new Draft
First, go to Admin > Learning > Courses. If you wish to draft a new version of a Course not yet assigned, you must first open the Course in question and then click the three dots (...) next to the Assign button and select + Create draft.
If you want to draft a new version of a live and assigned Course, you simply open the Course and click + Create Draft in the top-right corner of the page.
Once you create a new draft, the live version of the Course will be copied over allowing Global Admins and Content Creators to easily add additional information and/or remove and update existing information from the Course.
IMPORTANT: Only one draft can exist at a time per Course.
Within the Course builder in the right sidebar showcasing the Course overview, the top bar will indicate whether you are editing a live version or a draft of a Course. If only one version of the Course exists, the top bar will be green indicating the Global Admin or Content Creator is editing a live version. If the Course has no assignments, this will be labelled along with showcasing the Version number (v1).
When the course is assigned, the top bar will still be green indicating it being a live version. Also, a Live badge will illustrate the Course being assigned, and the Version number and information tooltip will be shown.
Below, an Edit draft button (if a draft exists) allows you to navigate to the existing draft, and a Versions button to open the version history panel.
IMPORTANT: For live Courses with only one existing version, any edit will be immediately visible to assigned people.
The color of the top bar will change from green to orange when you click the Edit draft button indicating you are now working in Draft Mode, meaning changes will not immediately be visible to assigned people as it is not yet a live version.
Within the Draft Mode, the orange top bar hosts a Publish button, a Go to latest button allowing you to navigate to the live version, a Versions button to open the version history panel, and a Delete button to remove the draft.
Publishing the Draft
When you are ready to publish a new version of the Course from the Draft Mode, you simply click the Publish button. Here, you will encounter a message advising you the number of affected users, if any, who are already assigned to this Course.
When a new Course version is published, the live version is archived and becomes read-only. There will be no impact for assigned users with the Course status Not started and Completed aside from them getting access to the new Course version.
Assigned users with the Course status In progress will have their progress reset upon publishing a new Course version.
If the Course issues a Certificate upon completion, awarded Certificates will remain for users with a Completed status. If the Certificate is set up to renew, users with an open renewal window will see the latest live version of the Course to complete.
The old version status shows a label indicating you are viewing an older version, the version number, and an information tooltip stating, “You’re viewing an older version that is no longer live.”
Below, a Go to latest button takes you to the live version, a Versions button opens the version history, an Insights button opens Course reporting, and a Delete button removes the version.
Course Settings in Draft Mode
Course Settings including Enrollment, Certification and Completion options as well as Notifications and reminders are not versioned, meaning they apply across ALL versions. If changes are made to these Course Settings in Draft Mode, this will not immediately impact the live version of the Course. However, once the draft is published, the new Course Settings will be applied across all previous versions.
Specifically for Course Languages, Global Admins and Content Creators have the option to add languages to both the live Course version as well as the draft without them impacting each other.
Languages have their own publishing mechanism, independent of Draft Mode. This allows Global Admins and Content Creators to add new languages to a draft and publish said language without it impacting the live Course version until the draft itself is published, in which case the language will appear in the Settings list on all previous versions.
Versions in Reporting
Within Course Reporting, version information is exposed in the Course Report as well as the Quiz Report for Global Admins to download. This allows them to review what version of a Course each user has completed by reviewing the dedicated column named Version.
For Quiz Reports specifically, Global Admins can view quiz data by version and language as the Quiz reporting page includes Version and Language drop downs to display the quiz data for the selected version and locale.
If you have any other questions or concerns, please reach out to our support team via the Support Hub.








