Overview
There are several aspects to the Messaging and Communities features that are very similar to every other communications app out there. Please follow this guide to get a detailed look into each option inside Messaging and Comunities.
Navigating Messaging
First, navigate to Messaging in your navigation bar. Here, you can view your existing messages as well as create new ones. To create a new Message with one or more people, click the New message icon in the top left, and then search for the person/people you want to chat with.
Once you select the people, click Add and they will be added to the thread.
Working from the left side of the screen to the right, we see a list of People or Groups we have already messaged/a list of your existing threads. Here, you can search for specific People or Groups, and also create a new message.
How can I see more detail about my Group chat?
Moving over to the right side, we can see the names of the People included in the thread. This will also display the number of People in the chat and the Group name if there is one. Click the (i) icon to slide over a menu. There are three tabs you will see there, as well as an option to leave the chat and to change the Group chat name.
In the Members tab, you can manage the People in the Group. You can either Add members or delete members. To Delete a Member, click the three dots that appear after scrolling over their name, and click Remove Member.
In the Media tab, you will see any photos or videos that were sent inside the thread.
Click the image in the All media section, to expand it.
The Files tab will include any files that are not images, meaning things like SCORM files, ZIP files, Excel files and CSV files. Click on any of the files in the All files tab to download it directly to your computer.
How do I delete a Group chat?
To delete a Group Chat, simply find the chat on your search bar on the left.
Hover over the chat > click the three dots (...) > click Delete, and the Chat will be deleted.
IMPORTANT: Deleting a Group Chat is a permanent action and cannot be reversed. It will delete the chat, and any attachments or files that were sent.
Messaging Icons explained
Next to the text box, at the bottom of the screen, you will see 4 icons:
|
|
|
|
This icon opens a menu of emojis to be used with your messages. | This icon allows you to upload a File into the chat for everyone to download. | This icon allows you to share images and videos with everyone in the chat. | This icon triggers your message to be sent. |
Navigating Communities
Finding the Communities you belong to is easy. First, click the Communities tab on your navigation bar.
Here, the left sidebar will show you a list of Communities. Think of these like Groups, but you can communicate with everyone in the Community as if it were a Facebook or Instagram wall. You can post text, videos, gifs, and more! You can even promote a learning for the rest of the community to take, or create a poll to ask questions.
Are there too many people in your Community resulting in a lot of notifications? No worries! You can simply mute the Community for yourself, by clicking the bell icon in the top-right corner of the Community page.
You can find more information about the Community you are viewing by clicking the About tab at the top.
In the Posts section, you can view, comment, react, and share posts.
Communities is intended to help foster a great sense of community, between your colleagues in different areas or the same areas, of your organization!
In case you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to the eloomi support team via the eloomi Support Hub.

















